Board - Abzena
Ken Cunningham, Abzena Board Member

Ken Cunningham

Chairman, Abzena plc

Ken Cunningham has over 25 years experience in the pharmaceutical industry. He is currently Chairman of Medherant Ltd and a Non Executive Director at Verona Pharma plc. Previously he was Chief Executive Officer of SkyePharma plc and before that Chief Executive Officer of Arakis Ltd, Vice-President European Affairs at Alza Corporation and Vice-President Clinical Development at Sequus Inc. Earlier in his career he held a variety of clinical development and commercial strategy roles at GlaxoWellcome plc and Warner Lambert. He holds a Medical Degree from St Mary's, Imperial College, London University.

John Burt, Abzena Board Member

John Burt

Chief Executive Officer, Abzena plc

John Burt has 20 years of life sciences industry experience and was appointed as Chief Executive Officer in May 2011. John has been leading the group to deliver its international growth strategy to enable the development of better biopharmaceuticals through organic growth, technology innovation and acquisitions. John has led the delivery of the M&A strategy that has brought together the businesses of PolyTherics, Antitope, PacificGMP and TCRS into the Abzena group, and the transition to AIM-quoted business on the London Stock Exchange in July 2014.

Previously, John co-founded Thiakis with Professor Sir Steve Bloom (Imperial College), and he served as Chief Executive Officer through to its successful acquisition by Wyeth Pharmaceuticals in December 2008. Earlier in his career, John held a range of roles covering finance, technology licensing and business and corporate development roles with Vanguard Medica plc (now part of Vernalis plc), GlaxoWellcome / GlaxoSmithKline and Imperial Innovations. John was awarded a DPhil (molecular biology) from University of Oxford, following his first degree in Natural Sciences at the University of Cambridge.

Julian Smith, Abzena Board Member

Julian Smith

Chief Financial Officer, Abzena plc

Julian Smith joined PolyTherics as Chief Financial Officer and Director in September 2013. Prior to this he was Chief Financial and Operations Officer at Imperial Innovations Group plc, where in 2006 he managed its listing on AIM and secondary offerings and a debt facility from the EIB.
Prior to Imperial Innovations Group plc, Julian was the Chief Financial Officer of RadioScape Limited and Group Financial Controller of Mobile Systems International Limited. Julian is a Chartered Accountant and has an MA in engineering science from Oxford University.

Tony Brampton, Abzena Board Member

Tony Brampton

Non-Executive Director, Abzena plc

Tony Brampton was previously Managing Director, Corporate Finance at J.P. Morgan Cazenove, with responsibility for healthcare. During the period 1994 to 2006 he was actively involved in numerous IPOs, follow on fund raisings and mergers and acquisitions. He has a BA and MSc in Biochemistry from the University of Oxford. He is a partner at Longbow Capital LLP and a Non-Executive Director of Polar Capital Global Healthcare Growth and Income Trust plc, Origin Inc, iPulse Limited and Domainex Limited.

Nigel Pitchford, Abzena Board Member

Nigel Pitchford

Non-Executive Director, Abzena plc

Nigel Pitchford was the former Chief Investment Officer for Touchstone Innovations plc, with responsibilities for all of the Group’s investment activities. He joined Touchstone Innovations (formerly Imperial Innovations) in January 2012. He was previously a Partner at DFJ Esprit and prior to that spent 12 years at 3i Group, becoming a Partner in 2006 and ultimately leading the venture team's healthcare activities across Europe and the US.

Nigel sits on the boards of Touchstone Innovations plc, Abzena plc, Veryan Medical Ltd, Nexeon Ltd and Oxular Ltd. He studied Chemistry at the University of Oxford, before completing a PhD at the University of Durham.

Peter Grant, Abzena Board Member

Peter Grant

Non-Executive Director, Abzena plc

Peter Grant is currently Chairman of LiDCO Group PLC and Microsaic Systems PLC. He was previously Chief Executive Officer of Skyepharma PLC from January 2012 to June 2016, when the company merged with Vectura Group PLC. He joined Skyepharma as Chief Financial Officer in November 2006.

Previously Peter was Interim Chief Executive Officer of Voice Commerce Group, Group Finance Director at Eurodis Electron plc, Chief Financial Officer at WorldPay plc and Group Finance Director then Group Chief Executive at Molins plc. Prior to this Peter held a variety of senior commercial, financial and general management roles in the General Electric Company plc group of companies. He holds an MA in Mathematics from the University of Oxford and is a Chartered Accountant.

Lotta Ljungqvist, Abzena Board Member

Lotta Ljungqvist

Non-Executive Director, Abzena plc

Lotta Ljungqvist was appointed President & CEO of GE for the Nordic Region in 2017. She is primarily responsible for GE’s overall growth in the region and acts as the key interface to GE for governmental and corporate relations. Dr. Ljungqvist is also CEO the BioProcess Innovation Center in Uppsala, a private public partnership to grow industrialization of BioProcess biology and technology innovation. She is also on the board of Vinnova, Sweden Bio, AmCham Sweden and Atlas Antibodies AB.

Dr Ljungqvist was previously Global Head of BioProcess R&D in GEHC Life Science during 2008-1016 responsible for development of new equipment and consumables for the BioPharma Industry. During 2007/2008 she was CEO of IMEA AB, a biotech company dedicated to develop Biopharmaceuticals. Prior to that, Dr Ljungqvist headed a Biopharmaceutical Contract Manufacturing Organization in Biovitrum during 2001-2007. From 1990-2001 she held several project management positions with Pharmacia Corp & Pharmacia & Upjohn including Project Director for the development of a biopharmaceutical.

Lotta received her PhD 1990 in Biochemistry and a M.Sc. in Biochemical Engineering in 1985 from the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm.

Interested in our services? Get In Touch